Songs that make me smile (and squeal with childish glee!)

Hello all.

EXAMS ARE OVER! ASDFGHJKKFGSJDAGKSDGFASFGASDLA! Words cannot begin to express how relieved and happy I am that they are over, so I thought I’d let the music do the talking. Here are some songs which make me want to shout with joy from the rooftops!

1. Potter Waltz – Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Soundtrack

Yes, another soundtrack. BUT IT’S HARRY POTTER! And it’s from one of my favourite scenes in the movie. This song brings back so many childhood memories and it just makes me want to get up and dance with anything that moves (or doesn’t).

2. You’re the Voice – John Farnham

You probably think I’m absolutely insane for putting this on the list, but who doesn’t love terrible 80’s power ballads? I just love belting along to this song and walking dramatically in slow-motion. In short, this song just cracks me up. Oh, and Colin Morgan and Bradley James from Merlin do an absolutely hilarious rendition of this song. Gosh, I’m such a geek.

3. Mr. Blue Sky – ELO

‘Mr. Blue Sky’ is just one of those fabulous feel-good songs which can cheer anybody up. Seriously, I listen to this song whenever I feel down or if the weather is giving me a touch of seasonal affective disorder. It’s an instant remedy, I tell you.

4. Here Comes the Sun – The Beatles

There’s a Beatles song for every occasion, I swear. It’s an obvious choice I know, but I just have to smile every time I listen to this song. “Here Comes the Sun’ simply radiates goodwill and hope from the very first acoustic guitar riff, bringing to mind someone sitting in a field playing on a beautiful day. Actually, that image is not too far from the truth: Harrison wrote this song in the garden of his friend Eric Clapton on one of the first beautiful days of spring, after deciding to skip one of the nerve-wracking business meeting which were beginning to tear the Beatles apart. Well, there’s some useless Beatles trivia for you!

5. Us – Regina Spektor

I discovered this song while watching the film ‘(500) Days of Summer’, which I absolutely adore. Anyway, I immediately fell in love with the song and bought the entire soundtrack after watching the film. Regina Spektor is an amazingly talented artist with a unique voice and the positive mood of this song is certainly ‘contagious’. See what I did there?

Well, there’s a bit of an eclectic mix for you! Sorry, my technologically-challenged brain can’t figure out how to embed youtube clips! Anyway, hope you enjoy these jolly tunes as much as I do! So, what about you? Which songs make you smile, squeal, or laugh uncontrollably?

11 thoughts on “Songs that make me smile (and squeal with childish glee!)

  1. I love songs 1 and 2 (half of my mp3 player consists of soundtracks). ‘You’re the Voice’ was my favourite song for a while but now it’s ‘Bohemian Rapsody’. I’m just a little disappointed there’s no Queen on your list :P As far as songs that make me happy go, I can’t go past ‘Amazing Grace’ and ‘When You Believe’ (from Prince of Egypt).

  2. Ahh, another ELO fan! You rock!!!! Love your song picks, all of them. I’ll have to find Colin’s and Bradley’s version of You’re the Voice. I bet that is hysterical. Can’t wait for the new season of Merlin to fire up!

  3. You’ve got the Potter Waltz in there! I grin like an idiot and wave my arms like Flitwick every time I watch the movies.
    AND you’ve got Here Comes The Sun and Mr. Blue Sky. Oh, I like you. :)

Leave a comment